Monday, June 13, 2005

Confederations Cup 2005

The FIFA Confederations Cup 2005 is starting this Wednesday June 15th. The tournament does not carry the prestige of other tournaments, but still is a good opportunity to see some of the world's best national teams in a competitive context in a year when there are few other international tournaments.
The tournament started in 1992 in Saudi Arabia as King Fahd Cup. Since then, it has grown to become a mini-World Cup, comprising the champions from each continent. The winners have been:

  • 1992: Argentina
  • 1995: Denmark
  • 1997: Brazil
  • 1999: Mexico
  • 2001: France
  • 2003: France

This year's Confederations Cup is taking place in Germany (giving the home team a good opportunity to try out the venue of next year's World Cup), and will contain the following teams in two groups:

  • A: Argentina, Australia, Germany, Tunisia
  • B: Brazil, Greece, Japan, Mexico

The Greek European champions are making their first appearance. Germany, the home team, should be watched out for, as they will be going for it all in one of the few tournaments they have never won. All Latin American teams have won it before, and will be favourites to take the title as well. Finally, the surprise African champions of Tunisia should be watched for. The same should be said of Japan.

In any case, for some good football next week, the Confederations cup is a good bet.

    No comments: